Waking to wonder


“Consider the ravens: They do not sow or reap, they have no storeroom or barn; yet God feeds them. And how much more valuable you are than birds! … Consider how the lilies grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.”
Some time ago I was in the high country of Colorado. Near tree line, the meadow was exploding with color and flowers. Beauty was there, and for once, I was too.
I don’t always take time to recognize the beauty of the moment, or the momentary beauty that appears, only to quickly fade, like the beauty of a rainbow. But there in the summertime high country I marveled at the flowers that blossomed, bloomed and faded all beyond the gaze of any human eye. Am I willing, wanting, even living to bloom only for the eye of the One who made me?

In this summertime of my life I am aware that I want to be there. I want to be there blooming for that gaze, and I want to be there to see the beauty exploding around me.

Have I missed some beauty today, Lord? Has there been an explosion of beauty in someone near me that I have not paused to see, wonder at and thank you for? Awaken me, afresh, to wonder.

Leave a Reply

